Regarding Windows 10

MissMurderMissMurder Posts: 1,429
edited July 2015 in Technical Support
Hello all,

At this time, we recommend against installing Windows 10 as there may be unforeseen issues which could prevent you from playing Dirty Bomb.

We have already begun extensive compatibility testing and are working diligently with our development team to introduce an update for the game that works with Windows 10. However, as with any new major software update, it may not be fully supported for at least a few weeks. If you do choose to upgrade to Windows 10, please be aware that intermittent problems may occur, including Dirty Bomb ceasing to launch or function properly.

If you run into an issue with Windows 10, please submit a ticket at https://support-dirtybomb.nexon.net/hc/en-us and provide the following information under the Technical Support form selection:

- Date of the incident:
- Error code:
- Operating System:
- Screenshot:

Also, we would recommend that you attach a dxdiag report to your Customer Support ticket, as that would provide more detailed information to help us diagnose the issue. However, please do NOT post your dxdiag report in the forums, only in your Customer Support ticket.

To create a dxdiag report
1. Click the Windows logo on your Task Bar.
2. Type “dxdiag” (without quotes) within the text bar at the bottom, and hit "Enter" to open dxdiag.exe
3. Click on “Save All Information…” and save the file to your computer.
4. Click the “Exit” button to quit.

We will provide updates as they come along, and thank you for your understanding.
«13456

Comments

  • RadicalMacRadicalMac Posts: 307
    edited July 2015
    Thank you for this, I was going to install Windows 10 right away but because of this I'm going to wait a while. You just saved me a ton of headache!

    lol there are going to be a LOT of games having problems with Windows 10, h e l l, games still have problems with Windows 8. The only reason I would ever get Windows 10 is if they make it more compatible towards PC games and actually allow access to XBL without actually having an Xbox One/360 actually on or in the building. (Though I am more of a PC gamer, I do have a lot of Xbox 360/Xbone games on my account that I don't play since I hardly ever touch consoles anymore, and I'd love it if I could play them on PC without having to buy a PC copy.)
  • RadicalMacRadicalMac Posts: 307
    (For some odd reason "h e l l" is a blocked word. No clue why.)
  • VexedVexed Posts: 135
    AAAAAAAH I reach NCO and 3 minutes later I'm being called out by @MissMurder. It's a conspiracy I tell you, a conspiracy!

    But yeah, sure, I'll come back when my OS has updated and I've got some playtime in to let everybody know if I get any issues. I certainly won't be missing Win8 however it goes.
  • XavienXXavienX Posts: 2,399
    INFORMATION FOR OTHERS:

    The most important is that, WINDOWS 10 CAN HAVE A LOT OF BUGS WITH OTHER PROGRAMS AS WELL BESIDES JUST DIRTY BOMB, so you might as well wait a few weeks. Every time a new windows is released, there are a lot of bugs with it being incompatible with other programs.
  • RadicalMacRadicalMac Posts: 307
    So what if I get the *cough* *cough* copy of Windows 10? Can I still check for bugs? :D
  • XavienXXavienX Posts: 2,399
    Vexed wrote: »
    This looks awfully like one of those warnings you see on the back of medicine packets listing all the possible side effects up to and including death :p

    I'll take my chances. Worst case scenario is that I end up providing valuable error data, which is a good thing, right?

    ...Right?

    GL bruh.
  • sqpantzsqpantz Posts: 8
    I've been rockin windows 10 for as long as I've played dirty bomb (120hrs)
    There was a time when updating past build 101330 resulted in major FPS problems, so I would roll back to 10130.
    Then AMD released new drivers for 10 and it was all good.

    YMMV

    4790K-HD6950
  • piranha_3piranha_3 Posts: 197
    edited July 2015
    Thank you for the warning
  • HarlotHarlot Posts: 290
    Been on Windows 10 for two months now. The game has crashed twice over those two months and I play daily. Other than that, I have had occasional periods where I could not tab back into Dirty Bomb, but that was resolved with the latest release.

    Upgrade away, boys.
  • kAndyREWkAndyREW Posts: 334
    holy @$!# am i glad that i decided to wait.
  • RadicalMacRadicalMac Posts: 307
    kAndyREW wrote: »
    holy @$!# am i glad that i decided to wait.

    Heck, you might have to wait a long time lol. Even Windows 8 has problems with PC games still so I wouldn't be surprised if problems arise :D
  • >Windows 10 available for months as a free Technical Preview
    >Doesn't use it to test

    What. Technical previews aren't just for Microsoft to get feedback on issues, they're for developers as well.
  • RadicalMacRadicalMac Posts: 307
    >Windows 10 available for months as a free Technical Preview
    >Doesn't use it to test

    What. Technical previews aren't just for Microsoft to get feedback on issues, they're for developers as well.

    Maybe they're still testing? Not exactly sure on that one.

    (I also notice the 4chan > type :D )
  • My Analysis:

    Windows 10 + My AMD Driver = Slight FPS Drop but working

    Windows 10 + My Nvidia Driver = FPS is the same, however crashes randomly sometimes >_>

    Windows 10 + My Intel HD Graphics = Works okay, but I don't really use it that often or at all.... So its a meh.

    Conclusion: Why is AMD OP?
  • Ardez1Ardez1 Posts: 3,288
    So I am still testing, but it looks like my video card driver isn't liked by Windows 10 so far. 10 minutes in and my 2nd monitor still isn't working. NVidia GTX 660 ti. Will provide more updates as I troubleshoot.
    I am a volunteer moderator on these forums. My opinion is my own and does not represent the opinion of Splash Damage or Nexon.
  • Ardez1Ardez1 Posts: 3,288
    After a couple of restarts and downloads from NVidia everything seems to be in working order. Was able to play a couple of matches with no issues so far. I will report any crashes if they happen.
    I am a volunteer moderator on these forums. My opinion is my own and does not represent the opinion of Splash Damage or Nexon.
  • Cr4zyCr4zy Posts: 45
    edited July 2015
    [quote="MissMurder;15361"]However, as with any new major software update, it may not be fully supported for at least a few weeks[/quote]

    Because no one saw this surprise update coming. Let alone had the chance to use preview builds for months.
  • VexedVexed Posts: 135
    edited July 2015
    So Win10 is now running on my machine and it's half time on my third comp game. So far no issues, but obviously Your Mileage May Vary (TM).

    Edit update: So I've been extensively playing Dirty Bomb over the past couple of days... uh... for science... and I have still yet to encounter any Win10-related issues. Everything seems fine.
    Post edited by Vexed on
  • Ghosthree3Ghosthree3 Posts: 2,471
    edited July 2015
    I installed a week ago and it's been running with absolutely no problems.

    In fact I haven't even had a crash since I've been running it on 10. This announcement sounds like more of a "well we just haven't tested it" than W10 having problems.

    The only issues I've had are unrelated to the game and that's the bug that causes 10 to update your graphics driver, which I don't want. Luckily there's a fix for this.

    EDIT: Oh and here's the thread where I mentioned I was testing it. http://forums.dirtybomb.nexon.net/discussion/14760/windows-10
    RadicalMac wrote: »
    lol there are going to be a LOT of games having problems with Windows 10, h e l l, games still have problems with Windows 8.
    Please don't spread misinformation based on well, nothing. The way you said that makes you sound extremely ignorant on the matter. Btw Diablo II, one of the games with the most compatibility issues over the years, still works.
    Ardez wrote: »
    So I am still testing, but it looks like my video card driver isn't liked by Windows 10 so far. 10 minutes in and my 2nd monitor still isn't working. NVidia GTX 660 ti. Will provide more updates as I troubleshoot.
    You probably have the issue I mentioned above. Either accept the latest driver or google how to hide updates in W10.
    76561197996992409.png
  • I will also use Windows 10. But, do you have to use your product key to activate, or does it auto? Because I lost my product key thingy and I'm not so keen into using those programs to find your key.
  • Ghosthree3Ghosthree3 Posts: 2,471
    I will also use Windows 10. But, do you have to use your product key to activate, or does it auto? Because I lost my product key thingy and I'm not so keen into using those programs to find your key.
    If you run the installer inside Windows it will use your current registration information. Clean install uses it as well - highly recommend clean install as always...
    76561197996992409.png
  • VexedVexed Posts: 135
    @AirborneAsian I literally just clicked a button, myself. A few days back I had a notification from the "Get Windows 10 App" (which is exactly what it says on the tin) offering to reserve me a free copy, so I did. This morning I just opened the app from the system tray and clicked the button to proceed. ~30 minutes later I had Win10.

    Oh, start menu. How I've missed you. ^^
  • Ghosthree3Ghosthree3 Posts: 2,471
    Vexed wrote: »
    Oh, start menu. How I've missed you. ^^
    Still inferior to Windows 7's though :( I installed Start10.
    76561197996992409.png
  • Hello there,

    I'm a windows insider and I have not ran into any crashes or errors.
    The only errors I ever had while running dirty bomb where network connection errors.
    This was not on the dirty bomb side.

    If I come across any issues I'll make sure to share them!
Sign In or Register to comment.